INFLECTRA (infliximab for Injection) Indications

Medical Information
Canada
 

In order to provide you with relevant and meaningful content we need to know more about you.

Please choose the category that best describes you.

This content is intended for Canadian Healthcare Professionals. Would you like to proceed?

Indications have been granted on the basis of similarity between INFLECTRA® and the reference biologic drug REMICADE®.

INFLECTRA® (infliximab for injection) is indicated for:

  • use in combination with methotrexate for the reduction in signs and symptoms, inhibition of the progression of structural damage and improvement in physical function in adult patients with moderately to severely active rheumatoid arthritis.
  • the reduction of signs and symptoms and improvement in physical function in patients with active ankylosing spondylitis who have responded inadequately, or are intolerant to, conventional therapies.
  • reduction of signs and symptoms, induction and maintenance of clinical remission and mucosal healing and reduction of corticosteroid use in adult patients with moderately to severely active Crohn’s disease who have had an inadequate response to a corticosteroid and/or aminosalicylate. INFLECTRA® can be used alone or in combination with conventional therapy.
  • reduction of signs and symptoms and induction and maintenance of clinical remission in pediatric patients with moderately to severely active Crohn’s disease who have had an inadequate response to conventional therapy (corticosteroid and/or aminosalicylate and/or immunosuppressant). The safety and efficacy of INFLECTRA® is not established in patients less than 9 years of age.
  • treatment of fistulising Crohn’s disease, in adult patients who have not responded despite a full and adequate course of therapy with conventional treatment.
  • reduction of signs and symptoms, induction and maintenance of clinical remission and mucosal healing, and reduction or elimination of corticosteroid use in adult patients with moderately to severely active ulcerative colitis who have had an inadequate response to conventional therapy (i.e., aminosalicylate and/or corticosteroid and/or an immunosuppressant).
  • reduction of signs and symptoms, induction and maintenance of clinical remission, and induction of mucosal healing in pediatric patients with moderately to severely active ulcerative colitis who have had an inadequate response to conventional therapy (i.e., aminosalicylate and/or corticosteroid and/or an immunosuppressant). The safety and efficacy of INFLECTRA® have not been established in patients less than 6 years of age.
  • reduction of signs and symptoms, induction of major clinical response, and inhibition of the progression of structural damage of active arthritis, and improvement in physical function in patients with psoriatic arthritis.
  • treatment of adult patients with chronic moderate to severe plaque psoriasis who are candidates for systemic therapy. For patients with chronic moderate plaque psoriasis, INFLECTRA® should be used after phototherapy has been shown to be ineffective or inappropriate. When assessing the severity of psoriasis, the physician should consider the extent of involvement, location of lesions, response to previous treatments, and impact of disease on the patient’s quality of life.

INFLECTRA® should be used by physicians who have sufficient knowledge of rheumatoid arthritis and/or ankylosing spondylitis and/or Crohn’s disease and/or ulcerative colitis and/or psoriatic arthritis and/or plaque psoriasis and who have fully familiarized themselves with the efficacy/safety profile of INFLECTRA®.

Pediatrics

INFLECTRA® is indicated for reducing signs and symptoms and for inducing and maintaining clinical remission in pediatric patients with moderately to severely active Crohn’s disease who have had an inadequate response to conventional therapy. INFLECTRA® is also indicated for reducing signs and symptoms, inducing and maintaining clinical remission and inducing mucosal healing in pediatric patients with moderately to severely active ulcerative colitis who have had an inadequate response to conventional therapy (i.e., aminosalicylate and/or corticosteroid and/or an immunosuppressant). In general, the adverse events in pediatric patients with Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis who received infliximab for injection were similar to those seen in adult patients with Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis respectively. It should be noted that in the Phase 3 trial (REACH) of pediatric patients with Crohn’s disease, all patients were required to be on a stable dose of either 6-mercaptopurine (6-MP), azathioprine (AZA), or methotrexate (MTX). (See INDICATIONS; WARNINGS AND PRECAUTIONS, Special Populations, Pediatrics; ADVERSE REACTIONS, Adverse Reactions in Pediatric Patients, Crohn’s Disease, Adverse Reactions in Pediatric Patients, Ulcerative Colitis; DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION; and CLINICAL TRIALS - REFERENCE BIOLOGIC DRUG).

The safety and efficacy of infliximab for injection has not been established in pediatric patients with Crohn’s disease <9 years of age or with ulcerative colitis <6 years of age. The safety and efficacy of infliximab for injection in pediatric patients with plaque psoriasis, psoriatic arthritis, ankylosing spondylitis, and in juvenile rheumatoid arthritis have not been established.

Geriatrics (≥ 65years of age)

Evidence from clinical studies suggests that the use in geriatric population is associated with no overall differences in safety and efficacy.

In rheumatoid arthritis clinical trials (ATTRACT) and plaque psoriasis trials, no overall differences were observed in the effectiveness or safety in 181 patients with rheumatoid arthritis and 75 patients with plaque psoriasis, aged 65 or older compared to younger patients although the incidence of serious adverse events in patients aged 65 or older was higher in both infliximab for injection and control groups compared to younger patients. In Crohn’s disease, ulcerative colitis, ankylosing spondylitis and psoriatic arthritis studies, there were insufficient numbers of patients aged 65 and over to determine whether they respond differently from patients aged 18 to 64. Because there is a higher incidence of infections in the elderly population in general, caution should be used in treating the elderly (see ADVERSE REACTIONS, Infections).

Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

INFLECTRA (infliximab pour injection) Indications

Pfizer recognizes the public concern in relation to COVID-19, which continues to evolve. Click here to learn how we are responding.
Pfizer reconnaît les préoccupations du grand public concernant la situation liée à la COVID-19, qui continue d'évoluer. Cliquez ici pour savoir comment nous avons réagi.

Indications

INFLECTRAMD (infliximab pour injection) est un médicament biologique biosimilaire (biosimilaire) à REMICADE®.

Les indications ont été accordées en fonction de la similarité entre et le médicament biologique de référence REMICADE®.

INFLECTRAMD (infliximab pour injection) est indiqué :

  • en association avec le méthotrexate, pour la réduction des signes et des symptômes, l’inhibition de la progression de l’atteinte structurale et l’amélioration de la capacité fonctionnelle chez les adultes atteints de polyarthrite rhumatoïde évolutive modérée ou sévère;
  • pour la réduction des signes et des symptômes, et pour l’amélioration de la capacité fonctionnelle des patients atteints de spondylarthrite ankylosante évolutive qui présentent une intolérance ou qui n’ont pas répondu de manière satisfaisante aux traitements standard;
  • pour la réduction des signes et des symptômes, l’induction et le maintien de la rémission clinique, la cicatrisation de la muqueuse et la réduction du recours à un traitement par corticostéroïdes chez les adultes atteints de maladie de Crohn évolutive modérée ou sévère qui ont obtenu une réponse insuffisante à un traitement par corticostéroïdes et/ou aminosalicylés. INFLECTRAMD peut être administré seul ou en association avec un traitement standard;
  • pour la réduction des signes et des symptômes, ainsi que pour l’induction et le maintien de la rémission clinique chez les enfants atteints de maladie de Crohn évolutive modérée ou sévère qui ont obtenu une réponse insuffisante à un traitement standard (c.‑à-d. corticostéroïdes et/ou aminosalicylés et/ou immunosuppresseurs). L’innocuité et l’efficacité d’INFLECTRAMD n’ont pas été établies chez les patients de moins de 9 ans;
  • pour le traitement de la maladie de Crohn avec fistulisation, chez les adultes qui n’ont pas répondu à un traitement standard complet et approprié;
  • pour la réduction des signes et des symptômes, l’induction et le maintien de la rémission clinique, la cicatrisation de la muqueuse et la réduction ou l’arrêt d’un traitement par corticostéroïdes chez les adultes atteints de colite ulcéreuse évolutive modérée ou sévère qui ont obtenu une réponse insuffisante à un traitement standard (c.‑à‑d. aminosalicylés et/ou corticostéroïdes et/ou immunosuppresseurs);
  • pour la réduction des signes et des symptômes, l’induction et le maintien de la rémission clinique et l’induction de la cicatrisation de la muqueuse, chez les enfants atteints de colite ulcéreuse évolutive modérée ou sévère qui ont obtenu une réponse insuffisante à un traitement standard (c.-à-d. aminosalicylés et/ou corticostéroïdes et/ou immunosuppresseurs). L’innocuité et l’efficacité d’INFLECTRAMD n’ont pas été établies chez les enfants de moins de 6 ans;
  • pour la réduction des signes et des symptômes, l’induction d’une importante réponse clinique, l’inhibition de la progression de l’atteinte structurale associée à l’arthrite en phase évolutive et l’amélioration de la capacité fonctionnelle chez les patients atteints de rhumatisme psoriasique;
  • pour le traitement des adultes qui sont atteints de psoriasis en plaques chronique de sévérité modérée ou élevée et candidats à un traitement à action générale. Chez les patients atteints de psoriasis en plaques chronique modéré, INFLECTRAMD ne doit être administré que lorsque la photothérapie s’est révélée inefficace ou inappropriée; pour évaluer la gravité du psoriasis, le médecin doit prendre en compte l’étendue et le siège des lésions, la réponse aux traitements antérieurs et l’incidence de la maladie sur la qualité de vie du patient.

INFLECTRAMD ne doit être utilisé que par des médecins ayant des connaissances suffisantes de la polyarthrite rhumatoïde, de la spondylarthrite ankylosante, de la maladie de Crohn, de la colite ulcéreuse, du rhumatisme psoriasique et/ou du psoriasis en plaques et une compréhension approfondie des marges d’efficacité et d’innocuité de ce médicament.

Enfants

INFLECTRAMD est indiqué pour la réduction des signes et des symptômes, ainsi que pour l’induction et le maintien de la rémission clinique chez les enfants atteints de maladie de Crohn évolutive modérée ou sévère qui ont obtenu une réponse insuffisante à un traitement standard. INFLECTRAMD est également indiqué pour la réduction des signes et des symptômes, l’induction et le maintien de la rémission clinique et l’induction de la cicatrisation de la muqueuse, chez les enfants atteints de colite ulcéreuse évolutive modérée ou sévère qui ont obtenu une réponse insuffisante à un traitement standard (c.-à-d. aminosalicylés et/ou corticostéroïdes et/ou immunosuppresseurs). En général, les manifestations indésirables observées chez les enfants atteints de la maladie de Crohn ou de colite ulcéreuse qui recevaient l’infliximab pour injection étaient semblables à celles observées chez les patients adultes atteints respectivement des mêmes maladies. Il est important de noter qu’au cours de l’essai de phase III (REACH) mené chez des enfants atteints de la maladie de Crohn, tous les patients devaient recevoir une dose stable de 6-mercaptopurine (6-MP), d’azathioprine (AZA) ou de méthotrexate (MTX) (voir INDICATIONS; MISES EN GARDE ET PRÉCAUTIONS, Populations particulières, Enfants; EFFETS INDÉSIRABLES, Effets indésirables chez les enfants, Maladie de Crohn, Effets indésirables chez les enfants, Colite ulcéreuse; POSOLOGIE ET ADMINISTRATION; et ESSAIS CLINIQUES – MÉDICAMENT BIOLOGIQUE DE RÉFÉRENCE).

L’innocuité et l’efficacité d’INFLECTRAMD n’ont pas été établies chez les enfants de moins de 9 ans atteints de la maladie de Crohn, de même que chez les enfants de moins de 6 ans atteints de colite ulcéreuse. L’innocuité et l’efficacité d’INFLECTRAMD chez les enfants atteints de psoriasis en plaques, de rhumatisme psoriasique, de spondylarthrite ankylosante ou de polyarthrite rhumatoïde juvénile n’ont pas été établies.

Personnes âgées (≥ 65 ans)

D’après les résultats des études cliniques, l’utilisation de l’infliximab pour injection chez les personnes âgées ne serait associée à aucune différence globale en matière d’innocuité ou d’efficacité.

Dans les essais cliniques portant sur la polyarthrite rhumatoïde (ATTRACT) et ceux sur le psoriasis en plaques, aucune différence globale n’a été observée en matière d’efficacité ou d’innocuité entre, d’une part, les 181 patients atteints de polyarthrite rhumatoïde et les 75 patients atteints de psoriasis en plaques, tous âgés de 65 ans ou plus et, d’autre part, les patients plus jeunes. Toutefois, en comparaison avec les patients plus jeunes, la fréquence des manifestations indésirables graves a été plus élevée chez les sujets âgés de 65 ans ou plus, tant dans les groupes traités par l’infliximab pour injection que dans les groupes témoins. La population des études cliniques portant sur l’utilisation de l’infliximab pour injection dans les cas de maladie de Crohn, de colite ulcéreuse, de spondylarthrite ankylosante et de rhumatisme psoriasique ne comptait pas assez de patients de 65 ans et plus pour permettre de déterminer si leur réponse au traitement différait de celle des sujets âgés de 18 à 64 ans. Les infections étant en général plus fréquentes dans la population âgée, la prudence s’impose lors du traitement des patients âgés (voir EFFETS INDÉSIRABLES, Infections).

Nouveautés

Il n'y a aucune nouveauté actuellement

Communiquer avec l'Information pharmaceutique de Pfizer

Signalez un effet indésirable
1 866 723-7111