Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

EUCRISA (crisaborole)

Health Professional Information

INDICATIONS

EUCRISA (crisaborole ointment, 2 %) is indicated for topical treatment of mild to moderate atopic dermatitis in patients 2 years of age and older.

Pediatrics (2 to <18 years): Based on the data submitted and reviewed by Health Canada, the safety and effectiveness of EUCRISA have been established in pediatric patients age 2 years and older for topical treatment of mild to moderate atopic dermatitis.

Pediatrics (<2 years of age): No data are available to Health Canada, therefore, Health Canada has not authorized an indication for pediatric patients below the age of 2 years.

Geriatrics (≥ 65 years of age):
Evidence from clinical studies of EUCRISA did not include sufficient numbers of patients aged 65 years and over to determine whether they respond differently from younger patients.

Contraindications

EUCRISA is contraindicated in patients who are hypersensitive to this drug or to any ingredient in the formulation, including any non-medicinal ingredient, or component of the container.

For a complete listing, see Dosage Forms, Strengths, Composition and Packaging.

Serious Warnings And Precautions Box

Not applicable

Dosage And Administration

Dosing Considerations

Not applicable

Recommended Dose and Dosage Adjustment

Apply a thin layer of EUCRISA twice daily to affected areas.

Administration

EUCRISA should be applied topically twice daily to all affected areas of skin.

EUCRISA is for topical use only and not for ophthalmic, oral, or intravaginal use.

Missed Dose

Advise patients if they forget to use EUCRISA as directed, to apply it as soon as possible, then go back to their regular schedule.

Overdosage

EUCRISA is not for oral use.

There are no data from clinical trials regarding signs and symptoms of overdose of EUCRISA. Overdosage with EUCRISA is not anticipated with dermal application. If surplus EUCRISA has been applied, the excess should be thoroughly wiped off.

For management of a suspected drug overdose, contact your regional poison control centre.

Dosage Forms, Strengths, Composition And Packaging

Table 1 – Dosage Forms, Strengths, Composition and Packaging.

Route of Administration

Dosage Form / Strength/Composition

Non-medicinal Ingredients

Topical

Ointment:

30g, 60g and 100g

20 mg of crisaborole per gram (2%) of white to off-white ointment

butylated hydroxytoluene, edetate calcium disodium, mono- and di-glycerides, paraffin, white petrolatum, propylene glycol.

EUCRISA contains 2% crisaborole (w/w) in a petrolatum-based, white to off-white ointment and is for topical use. Each gram of EUCRISA contains 20 mg of crisaborole in an ointment containing white petrolatum, propylene glycol, mono- and di-glycerides, paraffin, butylated hydroxytoluene, and edetate calcium disodium.

EUCRISA is supplied in 30g, 60g, and 100g multilaminate tubes.

Warnings And Precautions

Hypersensitivity

Hypersensitivity reactions, including contact urticaria, have occurred in patients treated with EUCRISA. Hypersensitivity should be suspected in the event of severe pruritus, swelling and erythema at the application site or at a distant site. If signs and symptoms of hypersensitivity occur, discontinue EUCRISA immediately and initiate appropriate therapy.

Special Populations

Pregnant Women

There is no available data with EUCRISA in pregnant women to inform the drug-associated risk for major birth defects and miscarriage. In animal reproduction studies, there were no adverse developmental effects observed with oral administration of crisaborole in pregnant rats and rabbits during organogenesis at doses up to 3 and 2 times, respectively, the maximum recommended human dose (MRHD).

Breast-feeding

It is unknown if EUCRISA is excreted in human milk. There is no information available on the effects of the drug on the breastfed infant or the effects on milk production after topical application of EUCRISA to women who are breastfeeding. EUCRISA is systemically absorbed. The lack of clinical data during lactation precludes a clear determination of the risk of EUCRISA to a breastfed infant. Therefore, the developmental and health benefits of breastfeeding should be considered along with the mother’s clinical need for EUCRISA and any potential adverse effects on the breastfed infant from EUCRISA or from the underlying maternal condition. Because many drugs are excreted in human milk, precaution should be exercised.

Pediatrics

Pediatrics (2 to <18 years): Based on the data submitted and reviewed by Health Canada, the safety and effectiveness of EUCRISA for topical treatment of mild to moderate atopic dermatitis have been established in pediatric patients age 2 years and older. Use of EUCRISA in this age group is supported by evidence from two multicenter, randomized, double-blind, parallel-group, vehicle-controlled 28-day trials which included 1,313 pediatric patients 2 to <18 years old (see ADVERSE REACTIONS and CLINICAL TRIALS).

The safety and effectiveness of EUCRISA in pediatric patients below the age of 2 years have not been established.

Geriatrics

Evidence from clinical studies of EUCRISA did not include sufficient numbers of patients aged 65 years and over to determine whether they respond differently from younger patients.

Adverse Reactions

Adverse Reaction Overview

The most common drug-related adverse events reported in clinical trials among patients with mild to moderate atopic dermatitis 2 years of age and older have been application site reactions.

Clinical Trial Adverse Reactions

Because clinical trials are conducted under very specific conditions, the adverse reaction rates observed in the clinical trials may not reflect the rates observed in practice and should not be compared to the rates in the clinical trials of another drug. Adverse reaction information from clinical trials is useful for identifying drug-related adverse events and for approximating rates.

In two randomized, double-blind, parallel-group, vehicle-controlled Phase 3 clinical trials (Studies AN2728-AD-301 and AN2728-AD-302), 1012 patients 2 to 79 years of age with mild to moderate atopic dermatitis were treated with EUCRISA twice daily for 4 weeks. The adverse reaction reported by ≥1% of EUCRISA-treated patients is listed in Table 2.

Table 2: Adverse Reaction Occurring in ≥1% of Patients in Atopic Dermatitis Trials through Week 4
a
Refers to skin sensations such as burning or stinging.

Adverse Reaction

EUCRISA

N=1012

n (%)

Vehicle

N=499

n (%)

Application site paina

45

(4.45%)

6

(1.20%)

Less Common Clinical Trial Adverse Reactions

Less common (<1%) adverse reactions in patients treated with EUCRISA included application site reactions (including contact dermatitis and pruritus) and flare of atopic dermatitis.

In an open-label, single arm, long-term safety study, 517 patients 2 to 72 years of age (including 454 patients 2 to 17 years of age), who had completed one of the Phase 3 studies without safety issues that precluded further treatment, were treated with EUCRISA twice daily intermittently for up to 48 weeks in 28 day on-treatment or off-treatment cycles. A total of 9 (2%) patients discontinued the therapy due to adverse events. The most frequently reported adverse events included atopic dermatitis, application site pain, and application site infection.

Abnormal Laboratory Findings: Hematologic, Clinical Chemistry and Other Quantitative Data

Results for clinical laboratory testing have not identified clinically important changes from baseline to the end of study in mean or median values for any hematology or biochemistry parameters in any of the clinical studies in patients with atopic dermatitis.

Clinical Trial Adverse Reactions (Pediatrics)

See Clinical Trial Adverse Reactions.

Post-Market Adverse Reactions

Not applicable

Drug Interactions

Serious Drug Interactions Box

Not applicable

Overview

In vitro studies using human liver microsomes indicated that under the conditions of clinical use, crisaborole and metabolite 1 are not expected to inhibit cytochrome P450 (CYP) 1A2, 2B6, 2C8, 2C9, 2C19, 2D6, and 3A4.

In vitro studies using human liver microsome for metabolite 2 showed that it did not inhibit activities of CYP2C19, 2D6, and 3A4; was a weak inhibitor of CYP1A2 and 2B6; and a moderate inhibitor of CYP2C8 and 2C9. 

In vitro studies in human hepatocytes showed that under the conditions of clinical use, crisaborole and metabolites 1 and 2 are not expected to induce CYP enzymes.

Drug-Drug Interactions

The most sensitive enzyme, CYP2C9, was further investigated in a clinical trial with coadministration of EUCRISA with warfarin, a CYP2C9 substrate. The results of this study showed no drug interaction potential. 

Drug-Food Interactions

Interactions with food have not been evaluated, as not applicable for topical products.

Drug-Herb Interactions

Interactions with herbal products have not been evaluated.

Drug-Laboratory Test Interactions

Interactions with laboratory tests have not been evaluated.

Drug-Lifestyle Interactions

Interactions with lifestyle have not been evaluated.

Action And Clinical Pharmacology

Mechanism of Action

Crisaborole is a phosphodiesterase 4 (PDE-4) inhibitor. PDE-4 inhibition results in increased intracellular cyclic adenosine monophosphate (cAMP) levels. While the specific mechanism(s) by which crisaborole exerts its therapeutic action is not well defined, crisaborole reduces the production of some inflammatory cytokines implicated in the pathophysiology of atopic dermatitis.

Pharmacodynamics

At therapeutic doses, EUCRISA ointment is not expected to prolong QTc to any clinically relevant extent. In a thorough QT/QTc study of healthy volunteers, there was no clinically important prolongation of QT/QTc interval induced by either crisaborole or its metabolites and there were no clinically significant effects on heart rate or PR or QRS intervals.

A randomized clinical study was carried out to determine the potential of EUCRISA ointment, 2%, to induce sensitization and to cause irritation by repeated topical application to normal skin of healthy volunteers (18 years of age or older) under controlled conditions. In this study, EUCRISA showed no evidence of skin sensitization potential. Some skin irritations (e.g. erythema, edema and papules) were reported.

Pharmacokinetics

Table 3 - Summary of EUCRISA Pharmacokinetic Parameters in 2 – 17 year old patients with mild to moderate atopic dermatitis and treated BSA range from 27% - 92%
 

Cmax ng/ml

Tmax (hrs, median (range))

AUC0-12(ng.hr/ml)

Steady State Mean (SD)

127 (196)

3.00 (3.00 – 24.0)

949 (1240)

Absorption:

The pharmacokinetics (pK) of EUCRISA were investigated in 33 pediatric patients 2 to 17 years of age with mild to moderate atopic dermatitis and a mean ± SD body surface area involvement of 49 ± 20% (range 27% to 92%). In this study, patients applied approximately 3 mg/cm2 of EUCRISA ointment (dose range was approximately 6 g to 30 g per application) twice daily for 8 days. The lower limit of quantification for the pK assay used to detect presence of crisaborole in plasma was 0.2 ng/mL.

Plasma concentrations were quantifiable in all the patients. The mean ± SD maximum plasma concentration (Cmax) and area under the concentration time curve from 0 to 12 hours post dose (AUC0-12) for crisaborole on Day 8 were 127 ± 196 ng/mL and 949 ± 1240 ng*h/mL, respectively (Table 3). Systemic concentrations of crisaborole were at steady state by Day 8. Based on the ratios of AUC0-12 between Day 8 and Day 1, the mean accumulation factor for crisaborole was 1.9.

Distribution:

Based on an in vitro study, crisaborole is 97% bound to human plasma proteins.

Metabolism:

Crisaborole is substantially metabolized into inactive metabolites. The major metabolite 5-(4-cyanophenoxy)-2-hydroxyl benzylalcohol (metabolite 1), is formed via hydrolysis; this metabolite is further metabolized into downstream metabolites, among which 5-(4-cyanophenoxy)-2-hydroxyl benzoic acid (metabolite 2), formed via oxidation, is also a major metabolite.

Pharmacokinetics of metabolites 1 and 2 were assessed in the PK study described above and the systemic concentrations were at or near steady state by Day 8. Based on the ratios of AUC0-12 between Day 8 and Day 1, the mean accumulation factors for metabolites 1 and 2 were 1.7 and 6.3, respectively.

Elimination:

Renal excretion of metabolites is the major route of elimination.

Special Populations and Conditions

Pediatrics:
A multicenter, open-label maximal use, systemic exposure study with a pK Phase and a non-pK Safety Phase was conducted in children and adolescents with mild to moderate AD. Based on the pK exposures, no difference was seen in pK exposures in patients between the various age cohorts (2 to <18 years old).

Geriatrics
PK profiles of crisaborole and its two metabolites have not been assessed in geriatric subjects.

Renal Impairment
PK profiles of crisaborole and its two metabolites have not been assessed in patients with renal impairment.

Hepatic Impairment
PK profiles of crisaborole and its two metabolites have not been assessed in patients with hepatic impairment.

Storage, Stability And Disposal

Store below 25°C.

Special Handling Instructions

Advise the patient or caregivers to read the Patient Medication Information.

Hypersensitivity:
Advise patients to discontinue EUCRISA and seek medical attention immediately if signs or symptoms of hypersensitivity occur (see WARNING and PRECAUTIONS).

Administration Instructions:
Advise patients or caregivers that EUCRISA is for external use only and is not for ophthalmic, oral, or intravaginal use.

 

Control #: 206906
June 11, 2018

What's New

27 August 2018

PfizerMeds app is designed to support your patients...

Contact Pfizer Medical Information

Report an Adverse Event
1 866 723-7111

Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

EUCRISA (crisaborole)

Renseignements Destinés Aux Professionnels De La Santé

INDICATIONS

EUCRISA (onguent de crisaborole à 2 %) est indiqué pour le traitement topique de la dermatite atopique légère ou modérée chez les patients âgés de 2 ans ou plus.

Enfants (âgés de 2 à < 18 ans) : Selon les données soumises à Santé Canada et examinées par l’organisme, l’innocuité et l’efficacité d’EUCRISA ont été établies chez les enfants âgés de 2 ans ou plus pour le traitement topique de la dermatite atopique légère ou modérée.

Enfants (< 2 ans) : Santé Canada ne dispose d’aucune donnée sur l’utilisation d’EUCRISA chez des enfants de moins de 2 ans et n’a donc pas autorisé d’indication pour cette population.

Personnes âgées (≥ 65 ans)
Les données probantes issues des études cliniques sur EUCRISA ne portent pas sur suffisamment de patients âgés de 65 ans ou plus pour qu’il soit possible de déterminer si ces derniers répondent au traitement de la même façon que les patients plus jeunes.

Contre-indications

EUCRISA est contre-indiqué chez les patients qui présentent une hypersensibilité à ce médicament ou à l’un des composants du produit (y compris les ingrédients non médicinaux) ou du contenant. Pour obtenir une liste complète, veuillez consulter la section Formes posologiques, teneurs, composition et conditionnement.

Encadré Sur Les Mises En Garde Et Les Précautions Importantes

Sans objet

Posologie Et Administration

Considérations posologiques

Sans objet

Posologie recommandée et ajustement posologique

Appliquer EUCRISA en couche mince deux fois par jour sur les zones touchées par la maladie.

Administration

EUCRISA doit être appliqué deux fois par jour par voie topique sur toutes les zones cutanées touchées par la maladie.

EUCRISA est destiné exclusivement à un usage topique et ne doit pas être administré par voie ophtalmique, orale ou intravaginale.

Dose oubliée

Préciser au patient que s’il oublie d’utiliser EUCRISA conformément aux directives reçues, il devra l’appliquer sur les zones à traiter dès que possible, puis revenir à l’horaire d’application habituel.

Surdosage

EUCRISA ne doit pas être administré par voie orale.

Les études cliniques ne contiennent pas de données concernant les signes et les symptômes d’un surdosage d’EUCRISA. L’application cutanée d’EUCRISA ne devrait pas entraîner de surdosage de ce médicament. En cas d’application d’un surplus d’EUCRISA, il faut essuyer complètement l’excès d’onguent.

En cas de surdosage soupçonné, communiquez avec le centre antipoison de votre région.

Formes Posologiques, Teneurs, Composition Et Conditionnement

Tableau 1 – Formes posologiques, teneurs, composition et conditionnement

Voie d’administration

Formes posologiques/teneur/ composition

Ingrédients non médicinaux

Topique

Onguent :

30, 60 et 100 g

20 mg de crisaborole par gramme (2 %) d’onguent blanc ou blanc cassé

hydroxytoluène butylé, édétate de calcium disodique, monoglycérides et diglycérides, paraffine, gelée de pétrole blanche, propylèneglycol

EUCRISA contient 2 % de crisaborole (p/p) dans un onguent blanc ou blanc cassé à base de gelée de pétrole et il est destiné à un usage topique. Un gramme d’EUCRISA renferme 20 mg de crisaborole dans un onguent contenant de la gelée de pétrole blanche, du propylèneglycol, des monoglycérides et diglycérides, de la paraffine, de l’hydroxytoluène butylé et de l’édétate de calcium disodique.

EUCRISA est offert dans des tubes multicouches de 30, de 60 ou de 100 g,

Mises En Garde Et Précautions

Hypersensibilité

Des réactions d’hypersensibilité, y compris des cas d’urticaire de contact, sont survenues chez des patients traités par EUCRISA. Il faut soupçonner une hypersensibilité en présence d’un prurit, d’un œdème et d’un érythème graves, qu’ils se manifestent au point d’application ou dans une zone éloignée de celui-ci. En cas d’apparition de signes et de symptômes d’hypersensibilité, il faut cesser immédiatement l’application d’EUCRISA et instaurer le traitement qui s’impose.

Populations particulières

Femmes enceintes

Il n’existe aucune donnée sur l’emploi d’EUCRISA chez la femme enceinte qui permette d’évaluer le risque de malformation congénitale grave et de fausse couche associé à ce médicament. Dans les études sur la reproduction animale, aucun effet indésirable sur le développement n’a été observé lorsque le crisaborole a été administré à des rates et à des lapines gravides par voie orale, durant l’organogenèse, à des doses qui pouvaient atteindre respectivement le triple et le double de la dose maximale recommandée chez l’humain (DMRH).

Femmes qui allaitent

On ignore si EUCRISA est excrété dans le lait maternel humain. On ne dispose d’aucun élément d’information sur les effets qu’il exerce sur la lactation ou sur le nourrisson allaité après son application par voie topique chez une femme qui allaite. EUCRISA passe dans la circulation générale. En l’absence de données cliniques obtenues durant la lactation, il est impossible d’établir clairement les risques auxquels EUCRISA expose les nourrissons durant l’allaitement. Par conséquent, il convient de peser les avantages de l’allaitement pour le développement et pour la santé en regard de la nécessité clinique d’administrer EUCRISA à la mère et des effets indésirables que pourrait subir le nourrisson, qu’ils soient imputables à EUCRISA ou à l’affection sous-jacente de la mère. Comme beaucoup de médicaments sont excrétés dans le lait maternel chez l’humain, des précautions s’imposent.

Enfants

Enfants (âgés de 2 à < 18 ans) : Selon les données soumises à Santé Canada et examinées par l’organisme, l’innocuité et l’efficacité d’EUCRISA dans le traitement topique de la dermatite atopique légère ou modérée ont été établies chez les enfants âgés de 2 ans ou plus. L’utilisation d’EUCRISA chez les patients de ce groupe d’âge est étayée par les données probantes de deux études multicentriques de 28 jours, comparatives avec excipient, menées à double insu avec répartition aléatoire et groupes parallèles auprès de 1313 enfants et adolescents âgés de 2 à < 18 ans (voir EFFETS INDÉSIRABLES et ÉTUDES CLINIQUES).

L’innocuité et l’efficacité d’EUCRISA chez les enfants de moins de 2 ans n’ont pas été établies.

Personnes âgées

Les données probantes issues des études cliniques sur EUCRISA ne portent pas sur suffisamment de patients âgés de 65 ans ou plus pour qu’il soit possible de déterminer si ces derniers répondent au traitement de la même façon que les patients plus jeunes.

Effets Indésirables

Aperçu des réactions indésirables

Les réactions au point d’application ont été les effets indésirables liés au médicament signalés le plus souvent au cours des études cliniques portant sur des patients de 2 ans ou plus atteints d’une dermatite atopique légère ou modérée.

Effets indésirables observés au cours des études cliniques

Étant donné que les études cliniques sont menées dans des conditions très particulières, les taux des effets indésirables qui sont observés peuvent ne pas refléter les taux observés dans la pratique courante et ne doivent pas être comparés à ceux observés dans le cadre des études cliniques portant sur un autre médicament. Les renseignements sur les effets indésirables qui sont tirés d’études cliniques s’avèrent utiles pour la détermination des effets indésirables liés aux médicaments et pour l’approximation des taux.

Dans le cadre de deux études cliniques de phase III à double insu, à répartition aléatoire, à groupes parallèles et comparatives avec excipient (études AN2728-AD-301 et AN2728-AD-302), 1012 patients âgés de 2 à 79 ans atteints d’une dermatite atopique légère ou modérée ont reçu EUCRISA deux fois par jour pendant 4 semaines. Les effets indésirables ayant été signalés par ≥ 1 % des patients traités par EUCRISA sont présentés au tableau 2.

Tableau 2 – Effets indésirables survenus jusqu’à la 4e semaine chez ≥ 1 % des patients des études sur la dermatite atopique
a
Terme qui désigne les sensations cutanées telles que les brûlures ou les picotements.

Effet indésirable

EUCRISA

N = 1012

n (%)

Excipient

N = 499

n (%)

Douleur au point d’applicationa

45

(4,45 %)

6

(1,20 %)

Effets indésirables peu fréquents observés au cours des études cliniques

Les effets indésirables peu fréquents (< 1 %) observés chez les patients traités par EUCRISA ont été les suivants : réactions au point d’application (y compris dermatite de contact et prurit) et poussée de dermatite atopique.

Durant une étude sans insu sur l’innocuité à long terme comportant un seul groupe, 517 patients de 2 à 72 ans (dont 454 patients de 2 à 17 ans), qui avaient terminé l’une des deux études de phase III sans avoir eu de problème d’innocuité susceptible de les empêcher de poursuivre le traitement, ont reçu EUCRISA deux fois par jour de manière intermittente pendant une période maximale de 48 semaines où se sont succédé des cycles de traitement et des cycles de repos thérapeutique de 28 jours. En tout, 9 (2 %) des patients ont abandonné le traitement en raison d’effets indésirables. Les effets indésirables les plus souvent signalés étaient la dermatite atopique, la douleur au point d’application et l’infection au point d’application.

Résultats anormaux des analyses de laboratoire : données hématologiques, biologiques et autres données quantitatives

Les résultats des analyses de laboratoire n’ont pas mis en évidence de variation d’importance clinique des valeurs moyennes ou médianes des paramètres hématologiques ou biochimiques entre le début et la fin des études cliniques menées chez des patients atteints de dermatite atopique.

Effets indésirables observés au cours des études cliniques chez les enfants

Voir Effets indésirables observés au cours des études cliniques.

Effets indésirables observés dans le cadre de la pharmacovigilance

Sans objet

Interactions Médicamenteuses

Encadré sur les interactions médicamenteuses graves

Sans objet

Aperçu

Des études in vitrosurdes microsomes de foie humain ont indiqué que dans les conditions d’utilisation clinique, le crisaborole et le métabolite 1 ne devraient pas inhiber les isoenzymes du cytochrome P450 suivantes : CYP1A2, CYP2B6, CYP2C8, CYP2C9, CYP2C19, CYP2D6 et CYP3A4.

Les études in vitro réalisées surdes microsomes de foie humain pour le métabolite 2 ont démontré que celui-ci n’inhibe pas l’activité de la CYP2C19, de la CYP2D6 ou de la CYP3A4, qu’il est un faible inhibiteur de la CYP1A2 et de la CYP2B6 et un inhibiteur modéré de la CYP2C8 et de la CYP2C9.

En somme, les études in vitrosur les hépatocytes humains ont démontré que ni le crisaborole ni les métabolites 1 et 2 ne devraient induire l’activité des isoenzymes du CYP dans les conditions d’utilisation clinique. 

Interactions médicament-médicament

La CYP2C9, l’isoenzyme la plus sensible, a fait l’objet d’une évaluation approfondie dans le cadre d’une étude clinique dans laquelle la warfarine, un substrat pour cette isoenzyme, était administrée avec EUCRISA. Les résultats de cette étude n’ont mis en évidence aucun risque d’interactions médicamenteuses.

Interactions médicament-aliment

Les interactions entre le crisaborole et les aliments n’ont pas été évaluées, puisqu’elles ne sont pas pertinentes pour l’application topique.

Interactions médicament-plante médicinale

Les interactions entre le crisaborole et les produits à base de plantes médicinales n’ont pas été évaluées.

Interactions du médicament sur les analyses de laboratoire

Les effets du crisaborole sur les analyses de laboratoire n’ont pas été évalués.

Interactions du médicament sur le mode de vie

Les effets du crisaborole sur le mode de vie n’ont pas été évalués.

Mode D’action Et Pharmacologie Clinique

Mode d’action

Le crisaborole est un inhibiteur de la phosphodiestérase de type 4 (PDE4). L’inhibition de la PDE4 entraîne une hausse de la concentration intracellulaire d’adénosine monophosphate cyclique (AMPc). Le crisaborole réduit la production de certaines cytokines proinflammatoires impliquées dans la physiopathologie de la dermatite atopique; cela dit, on n’a pas encore tout à fait élucidé les mécanismes spécifiques suivant lesquels cet agent exerce ses effets thérapeutiques.

Pharmacodynamie

En principe, lorsqu’il est administré aux doses thérapeutiques, l’onguent EUCRISA ne devrait pas entraîner d’allongement cliniquement important de l’intervalle QTc. Au cours d’une étude approfondie ayant porté sur les effets du crisaborole sur l’intervalle QT/QTc chez des volontaires sains, ni le crisaborole ni ses métabolites n’ont induit d’allongement cliniquement important de cet intervalle, et ils n’ont pas non plus exercé d’effets cliniquement importants sur la fréquence cardiaque, l’intervalle PR ou le complexe QRS.

Une étude clinique à répartition aléatoire a été réalisée pour déterminer si l’application topique répétée de l’onguent EUCRISA à 2 % sur la peau normale de volontaires sains (âgés de 18 ans ou plus), dans des conditions contrôlées, risquait d’induire une sensibilisation et de causer une irritation. Dans cette étude, EUCRISA n’a été associé à aucun signe évocateur d’un risque de sensibilisation de la peau. Certaines irritations de la peau (érythème, œdème, papules, etc.) ont été signalées.

Pharmacocinétique

Tableau 3 – Résumé des paramètres pharmacocinétiques d’EUCRISA chez des patients âgés de 2 à 17 ans atteints d’une dermatite atopique légère ou modérée pour lesquels le pourcentage de surface corporelle traitée variait de 27 à 92 %

Cmax, ng/mL

Tmax, h (médiane

[min.-max.])

ASC0-12 h, ng•h/mL

Moyenne à l’état d’équilibre (écart-type)

127 (196)

3,00 (3,00-24,0)

949 (1240)

Absorption

Les paramètres pharmacocinétiques d’EUCRISA ont été évalués chez 33 enfants et adolescents âgés de 2 à 17 ans atteints d’une dermatite atopique légère ou modérée pour lesquels le pourcentage moyen de surface corporelle touchée par la maladie ± écart-type était de 49 ± 20 % (min.-max. : 27-92 %). Dans cette étude, les patients ont appliqué à peu près 3 mg/cm2 d’onguent EUCRISA (min.-max. : 6-30 g approximativement par application) sur les zones à traiter deux fois par jour pendant 8 jours. Le seuil de détection du dosage pharmacocinétique utilisé pour déceler la présence du crisaborole dans le plasma était de 0,2 ng/mL. -

La concentration plasmatique du crisaborole était mesurable chez tous les patients. Le 8e jour, la concentration plasmatique maximale (Cmax; moyenne ± écart-type) du crisaborole était de 127 ± 196 ng/mL, et l’aire sous la courbe de la concentration de cet agent en fonction du temps de 0 à 12 heures après administration (ASC0-12 h), de 949 ± 1240 ngh/mL (tableau 3). La concentration du crisaborole dans la circulation générale a atteint l’état d’équilibre au bout de 8 jours. D’après le rapport des ASC0-12 h observées le 8e et le 1er jour, le facteur d’accumulation moyen du crisaborole se chiffrait à 1,9.

Distribution

D’après une étude in vitro, le taux de liaison du crisaborole aux protéines plasmatiques s’élève à 97 % chez l’humain.

Métabolisme

Le crisaborole subit une biotransformation importante en métabolites inactifs. Le principal métabolite de cet agent, l’alcool 5-(4-cyanophénoxy)-2-hydroxybenzylique (métabolite 1), est formé par hydrolyse. Il est métabolisé à son tour en plusieurs métabolites en aval, dont un autre métabolite majeur, l’acide 5-(4-cyanophénoxy)-2-hydroxybenzoïque (métabolite 2), qui est formé par oxydation.

Les paramètres pharmacocinétiques des métabolites 1 et 2 ont été évalués dans le cadre de l’étude pharmacocinétique décrite ci-dessus : au bout de 8 jours, les concentrations de ces deux métabolites avaient atteint l’état d’équilibre dans l’organisme ou elles s’en étaient rapproché. D’après le rapport des ASC0-12 h observées le 8e et le 1er jour, les facteurs d’accumulation moyens des métabolites 1 et 2 s’établissaient respectivement à 1,7 et à 6,3.

Élimination

L’excrétion rénale des métabolites est la principale voie d’élimination.

Populations particulières et états pathologiques

Population pédiatrique
Une étude sans insu et multicentrique de type MUSE (Maximal Use, Systemic Exposure; risque d’exposition générale dans des conditions d’utilisation maximales) comportant une phase d’analyse pharmacocinétique et une phase d’évaluation de l’innocuité sans analyse pharmacocinétique a été menée auprès d’enfants et d’adolescents atteints d’une dermatite atopique légère ou modérée. D’après les paramètres pharmacocinétiques d’exposition, il n’y avait aucune différence entre les divers groupes d’âge (de 2 à < 18 ans) quant à l’exposition (pharmacocinétique) au crisaborole.

Personnes âgées
Les paramètres pharmacocinétiques du crisaborole et de ses deux métabolites n’ont pas été évalués chez des sujets âgés.

Insuffisance rénale
Les paramètres pharmacocinétiques du crisaborole et de ses deux métabolites n’ont pas été évalués en présence d’insuffisance rénale.

Insuffisance hépatique
Les paramètres pharmacocinétiques du crisaborole et de ses deux métabolites n’ont pas été évalués en présence d’insuffisance hépatique.

Conservation, Stabilité Et Mise Au Rebut

Conserver à moins de 25 ˚C.

Particularités De Manipulation Du Produit

Conseiller aux patients ou à leurs aidants de lire les Renseignements destinés aux patients.

Hypersensibilité
Recommander aux patients de cesser l’application d’EUCRISA et de consulter immédiatement un médecin en cas d’apparition de signes ou de symptômes d’hypersensibilité (voir MISES EN GARGE ET PRÉCAUTIONS).

Directives d’administration
Préciser aux patients ou à leurs aidants qu’EUCRISA est réservé à l’usage externe et qu’il ne doit pas être administré par voie ophtalmique, orale ou intravaginale.

 

Numéro de contrôle : 206906
11 juin 2018

Nouveautés

Il n'y a aucune nouveauté actuellement

Communiquer avec l'Information pharmaceutique de Pfizer

Signalez un effet indésirable
1 866 723-7111