Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

ATIVAN (lorazepam) Action

Pfizer recognizes the public concern in relation to COVID-19, which continues to evolve. Click here to learn how we are responding.
Pfizer reconnaît les préoccupations du grand public concernant la situation liée à la COVID-19, qui continue d'évoluer. Cliquez ici pour savoir comment nous avons réagi.

Action

WARNING: RISKS FROM CONCOMITANT USE WITH OPIOIDS

Concomitant use of ATIVAN and opioids may result in profound sedation, respiratory depression, coma, and death (see WARNINGS - Risks from concomitant use of opioids and benzodiazepines).

  • Reserve concomitant prescribing of these drugs for use in patients for whom alternative treatment options are inadequate.
  • Limit dosages and durations to the minimum required.
  • Follow patients for signs and symptoms of respiratory depression and sedation.

Ativan (lorazepam) is an active benzodiazepine with a depressant action on the central nervous system. It has anxiolytic and sedative properties which are of value in the symptomatic relief of pathologic anxiety in patients with anxiety disorders giving rise to significant functional disability but is not considered indicated in the management of trait anxiety.

Ativan (lorazepam) has also been shown to possess anticonvulsant activity.

Lorazepam is rapidly absorbed after oral administration, with mean peak plasma concentrations of free lorazepam at 2 hours (range between 1-6 hours). Following intravenous administration, peak plasma levels are reached within minutes, whereas following administration by the intramuscular route, peak plasma levels occur between 60 to 90 minutes. After sublingual administration, peak plasma levels occur at 60 minutes. By the intramuscular route, the absorption half-life values of lorazepam average 12 and 19 minutes, whereas by the oral route, there is an additional lag period averaging 15 and 17 minutes. Bioavailability was shown to be identical by all routes of administration.

Lorazepam is rapidly conjugated to a glucuronide which has no demonstrable psychopharmacological activity and is excreted mainly in the urine. Very small amounts of other metabolites and their conjugates have been isolated from urine and plasma.

The serum half-life of lorazepam ranges between 12 to 15 hours, while that of the conjugate varied between 16 to 20 hours. Most of the drug (88%) is excreted in the urine, with 75% excreted as the glucuronide. At the clinically relevant concentrations, approximately 85% of lorazepam is bound to plasma proteins.

Anterograde amnesia, a lack of recall of events during period of drug action, has been reported and appears to be dose-related.

What's New

No Current Announcements.

Contact Pfizer Medical Information

Report an Adverse Event
1 866 723-7111

Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

ATIVAN (lorazépam) Action

Pfizer recognizes the public concern in relation to COVID-19, which continues to evolve. Click here to learn how we are responding.
Pfizer reconnaît les préoccupations du grand public concernant la situation liée à la COVID-19, qui continue d'évoluer. Cliquez ici pour savoir comment nous avons réagi.

Action

MISE EN GARDE : RISQUES LIÉS À L’UTILISATION CONCOMITANTE D’OPIOÏDES

L’utilisation concomitante d’ATIVAN et d’opioïdes peut entraîner une sédation profonde, une dépression respiratoire, le coma et le décès (voir MISES EN GARDE, Risques liés à l’utilisation concomitante d’opioïdes et de benzodiazépines).

  • Il faut réserver l’emploi concomitant de ces médicaments aux patients chez qui les autres options thérapeutiques s’avèrent inadéquates.
  • Il faut limiter les doses et la durée au minimum nécessaire.
  • Il faut surveiller les patients pour déceler d’éventuels signes et symptômes de dépression respiratoire et de sédation.

Ativan (lorazépam) est une benzodiazépine active qui exerce une action dépressive sur le système nerveux central (SNC). Il possède des propriétés anxiolytiques et sédatives utiles pour le soulagement symptomatique de l’anxiété pathologique des patients souffrant de troubles anxieux entraînant une incapacité fonctionnelle considérable. Cependant, Ativan n’est pas indiqué dans le traitement de l’anxiété réactionnelle.

Ativan (lorazépam) possède également une action anticonvulsivante.

Le lorazépam est rapidement absorbé après l’administration orale, les concentrations plasmatiques moyennes maximales du lorazépam à l’état libre étant atteintes après 2 heures (entre 1 et 6 heures). Les concentrations plasmatiques maximales sont atteintes en quelques minutes après l’administration intraveineuse, alors qu’il faut attendre de 60 à 90 minutes après l’administration intramusculaire et 60 minutes après l’administration sublinguale. Par voie intramusculaire, la demi-vie d’absorption du lorazépam varie de 12 à 19 minutes, alors que, par voie orale, il faut attendre de 15 à 17 minutes de plus. La biodisponibilité s’est révélée identique par toutes les voies d’administration.

Le lorazépam se transforme rapidement en un glucuronide n’ayant pas d’activité psychopharmacologique démontrable et il est excrété principalement dans l’urine. De très faibles quantités d’autres métabolites et de leurs conjugués ont été isolées de l’urine et du plasma.

La demi-vie plasmatique du lorazépam est de 12 à 15 heures, celle du glucuronide étant de 16 à 20 heures. Le médicament est excrété en majeure partie (88 %) dans l’urine, dont 75 % sous forme de glucuronide. Aux concentrations pertinentes en clinique, environ 85 % du lorazépam se lie aux protéines plasmatiques.

On a signalé des cas d’amnésie antérograde, soit une absence de mémoire des événements survenus pendant l’effet du médicament, qui semble être en fonction de la dose.

Nouveautés

Il n'y a aucune nouveauté actuellement

Communiquer avec l'Information pharmaceutique de Pfizer

Signalez un effet indésirable
1 866 723-7111